Dear Mr. President…(I can no longer stay silent)

This is the letter I just emailed to my elected government “leaders” a few moments ago.

October 8, 2013

President Obama

Vice President Biden

Senator Lamar Alexander

Senator Bob Corker

Representative Jim Cooper

Let me say first and foremost that I love my country. I’m proud to be an American. I’m the proud daughter of a Retired US Army Lt. Colonel. I’m the proud sister of a Retired US Army Colonel. I’m the proud wife of an Army Veteran. I’m the proud sister-in-law to two (2) US Navy Veterans. I’m the proud daughter-in-law to a US Air Force Retired Chief Master Sergeant. And that’s just TWO generations…but I’ll stop there.

I’ve been heard to say that my blood runs OD Green…but truthfully, it runs Red, White and Blue.

And I am ASHAMED of how my elected government leaders are treating the families of soldiers who have died serving this great nation. To deny them the timely payment of the death gratuity and paid travel privileges to Dover AFB to receive their son’s and daughter’s remains is just unfathomable to me. I cannot wrap my head around it.

Can you even begin to imagine the pain YOUR decisions are compounding onto these families? No, of course you can’t. I can’t either. But I know one thing, they don’t deserve to be treated this way by their own government.

I recommend a simple solution…voluntarily withhold YOUR pay and pay these families. The money won’t bring their sons or daughters back, but it will allow them to deal with the financial hardships that have been thrust upon them by the death of their child serving this great country.

Stop the senseless arguing and bickering now. Get in a room and fix this. Immediately.

I’ll be praying for each one of you to do the right thing.

May God bless America.

Jan Orga

Nashville, TN

Any of the current government shutdown behaviors or issues creating a burning need in you to voice your opinion? Email the President and other government officials via http://www.emailthepresident.com/

Join me in praying for our country and her leaders.

May God bless America.

Jan

god_bless_america

2 thoughts on “Dear Mr. President…(I can no longer stay silent)

  1. I wrote a similar letter last week to Phil Gingrey, Cannot believe he is an MD, but have not heard a peep. I asked him what he planned to do about his pay during all this. What we could not do with their retirement, salary and healthcare benefits ourselves. They all need replacing. NOW. I signed a petition this morning for recalls.

    • Thanks for reading…I didn’t know what else to do. I agree ALL the politicians need to be replaced. They clearly have forgotten who they work for.

Leave a Reply

