With much gratitude for my parents…

Because without them there would be no ME!

Happy Birthday to ME today!! I’m so grateful for this day and for each and every one yet to come.

Honestly, I used to struggle with my own birthdays. They just didn’t feel special…they didn’t feel “bad”…I just didn’t see the point in celebrating them. I didn’t like the attention. I guess I felt I didn’t deserve it. Hmm…something to ponder there.

Once I had children myself, my focus shifted towards my parents. You see…my children’s birthdays are very special to me…afterall…those specific days changed my life FOREVER! I spend the entire week up to their birthday reminiscing about the events leading up to their BIRTH day. I like to think my parents have their own fond memories about MY birth day…

On my 50th birthday, I was a little blue. I’ll admit it. My very insightful and wise aunt reminded me that any day I wake up on the “right” side of the dirt is a GREAT day! And as usual…she is exactly right. It was selfish for me to think about my birthday in any way but as a celebration of this gift I’ve been given called LIFE!

Thank you, Mom and Dad for this gift you’ve given me. I love you more than you’ll ever know! I hope I honor you by passing the unconditional love you give me to my own children. And I hope they pass it to their children…for generations yet to come! May God bless you both richly!!

This is the day which the Lord has made;
Let us rejoice and be glad in it.  ~Psalm 118:24

Peace, blessings and

YOLO!
Jan

PS…we DO have some celebrating scheduled this year!! I deserve it!!

Leave a Reply

