Lesson in Triggers…It’s NOT What You Think

Today has been an interesting day in the use of “triggers”. Even though I’m from the “patron state of shooting stuff” – I’m not talking about “those” triggers.

I’ve been learning about and teaching myself to use triggers as a reminder to look at my to-do list throughout each day. I’m doing a 30-Day Challenge with Chalene Johnson in which she’s teaching me to create the habit of using a to-do list on my phone and create the habit of checking it frequently…with the goal being to master organization so I WILL accomplish my goals.

A “trigger” is something that you can use to remind yourself to check your list. I use the number 9 as one. Anytime I see the number 9 – which should be at least once per hour – I check my list.

I’m honestly struggling a bit with the trigger idea and applying it to checking my list; however, I noticed today that I use a trigger readily in another aspect of my life and didn’t even realize I was doing it.

We live in a complex that faces a busy street in a main part of town. Throughout the day, sirens can be heard rushing by. They might be firetrucks, ambulances or police cars. Sometimes, it’s all of them.

As I was out doing my Saturday errands today, I noticed there were an unusual amount of emergency vehicles with sirens blaring going up this street. I found myself praying for the safety of whomever the vehicles were responding to; the safety of the emergency responders themselves and that the general public would get out of their way so they could pass quickly and get where they needed to be.

Then it dawned on me…I’ve created a trigger in response to the emergency sirens. Without thinking, I began praying for all concerned. And I did it repeatedly as I was confronted by another siren. THAT’s how a trigger is supposed to work!

Now if I can just apply it to my to-do list I’ll be another step closer to creating habits that will lead me closer to my goals! Perhaps I need to change my trigger…hmm…gonna think on that tonight.

Do you use triggers? I’d love to hear your stories so I can learn from you!

YOLO,

Jan

One thought on “Lesson in Triggers…It’s NOT What You Think

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Lesson in Triggers…It’s NOT What You Think | Jan Orga -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

