Learn to Listen

Over the past year or so, as I’ve been working on self-development, I’ve learned to LISTEN to the universe when she speaks to me. I don’t always immediately know what to do with the information; yet, I am always amazed when I hear the same message from multiple sources in a short period of time.

Consider the last 24 hours…

I received this note in a “Note from the Universe” – inspirational, encouraging emails I receive daily:

Whenever something doesn’t work out the way you thought it would, Jan, instead of thinking that something went wrong, see it as something that went unexpectedly well, but for reasons that are not yet apparent.

Then, while unwinding before I fall asleep at night, I often listen to a podcast by Joyce Meyer. I find her material inspirational, educational, supportive, encouraging and it always reinforces my spiritual life. Last night, I heard this message:

Consider it pure joy, my brothers and sisters, whenever you face trials of many kinds… ~James 1:2 (NIV)

Consider it joyful. Why? Because there is a treasure in your trial. Somewhere, if you’ll look for it…there’s a treasure in that trial…when you face a struggle, when you face a disappointment, when you face something hard, learn to let one of the first things that comes out of your mouth be “God help me find the treasure in this trial.”     ~Joyce Meyer podcast, 1/10/11 The Power of Words

There was also a post on facebook in my news stream about the same topic…finding the silver lining in a cloud. I can’t find the exact post (anyone know how to bookmark a post – I often wish I could!).

Think the universe was speaking to me? I do!

I love the idea of looking for the positive in any situation and I’m learning to embrace it myself. After losing my job a little over a year ago…I’ve faced many trials. No, I haven’t faced them all with joy. I’m learning to though. God has been walking right beside me and the more I pay attention…the more I see His presence.

I’m learning that it’s a head game and according to Joyce Meyer – a word game. We don’t need to talk fear – we need to talk faith. Choose your words carefully. Speak positivity. Look for the treasure.

Do you approach trials with joy and look for the treasure? It definitely is a faith walk.

Blessings.

Yolo,

Jan

My resources:

Leave a Reply

