Spiritual Renewal Day:A Beginning Lesson in Margins

Today, Pastor Dale Robble at Highland Park Church, spoke about “margins”.

Margin: the amount available beyond what is necessary. Some examples:

  • the difference between what you have and what you need
  • having distance between you and temptation
  • having the emotional capacity to deal with problems
  • having significant time with God
  • overload is fatigue, margin is energy
  • overload is red ink, margin is black ink
  • overload is hurry, margin is calm
  • overload is anxiety, margin is security

Most people have NO margin for the most important priorities in their lives. Pastor Dale really caught my attention when he said that for him…the best things in life happen in the margins. I’ve been thinking about this all day…it’s a concept that I will explore and apply to my life immediately! It’s TIME to increase the MARGINS!

We live in a culture that encourages us to push ourselves to the limits. Most of us are convinced that the way we are living is necessary and right. It’s NOT!!

God wants us to have healthy margins. Consider:

  • Romans 12:2 Don’t copy the behavior and customs of this world, but let God transform you into a new person by changing the way you think. Then you will learn to know God’s will for you, which is good and pleasing and perfect.
  • Matthew 11:28 Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest.”
  • Psalm 46:10 Be still and know that I am God!
  • Isaiah 58:11 The Lord will guide you continually…

In doing my weekly review of my 2011 goals and priorities, I am reminded that one of my spiritual “goals” is to increase my meditation and prayer time.

I continue to find myself in awe at how the universe responds when you focus on something. What you focus on increases. I am constantly finding this reinforced in my life. The message today at HPC was totally in keeping with my goals. I am looking forward to the rest of this series and learning more about creating healthy margins.

What can YOU do to increase the margins in YOUR life?

YOLO,

Jan

PS – The HPC series is based in part, on the book: Margin, Restoring Emotional, Physical, Financial and Time Reserves to Overloaded Lives by Richard Swenson.


One thought on “Spiritual Renewal Day:A Beginning Lesson in Margins

  1. Pingback: Spiritual Renewal Day: Scheduling Margin | Jan Orga

Leave a Reply

