Day 1 P90X, October 25th, 2010

(originally posted on 10/25/2010 on teambeachbody.com/janorga site. I’m moving all posts to this blog and will simply blog here. The Spirit of YOLO is an appropriate place to record my health improvement journey which will translate to improving my ability to be an influencer in this world. I choose to live with the Spirit of YOLO and that requires me being at my best!)

Day 1…of the first day of the rest of my life!

I was a good girl and gathered all of the necessary tools to make sure I had a successful P90X workout session with minimal distractions.

  • computer to “push play”
  • clipboard with workout sheets to record my successes
  • resistance band and door – “thingamajiggy”
  • small towel to deal with all the sweat I’d be producing
  • large glass of water for breaks
  • wearing comfortable workout clothes
  • chair

Then it was time to “push play”! And so I did!

Even though this was the first time I’d actually done the program at MY “full out” ability – I still had to stop, pause and rewind a few times to make sure I had the form of my body correct. Hard to do without a full length mirror – might have to invest in one…

I was a gymnast, cheerleader and ran track in high school…that, however was many, many, MANY moons ago! The problem is – my mind BELIEVES I can do certain things that my body simply screams back a loud NO – WE NO LONGER MOVE THAT WAY!

So…I did what I could…pushed myself to do just one or two more reps…and confirmed that I am so, so weak!! I’m determined to stick with this program, avoiding injury, so I’m trying to be good at pacing myself and still pushing myself go that little extra.

Bottom line – I accomplished every set EXCEPT the second set of the diamond push ups. I took a solid break on that one. I didn’t do even close to the # of reps that Tony et al do on the DVD – that’s ok with me…I’ll be looking for steady improvement of my abilities.

Now the ab ripper is another story – I “attempted” every exercise and found myself laughing at/with myself at my total lack of ability. I clearly no longer even have what you would call abs…I’ve got oatmeal. A big pile of lumpy oatmeal! When I couldn’t do the exercise they were doing – I substituted with crunches that I could do. Again…the plan is that I’ll see improvement in weeks to come.

My workout began at 10am this morning. It’s now nearly 8pm. I’m beginning to get a little sore and am stiff when getting up from sitting AND I think I’ll sleep well tonight!

I’m also following the nutrition plan. I spent a great deal of mental energy on preparing foods and making sure to actually eat throughout the day. It’s definitely easy for me to skip meals. I’ve gotta break that habit!

I’m in a bit of a quandry about how many calories should be my max per day. I’ve read anywhere from 1300 – 1500. I’ll definitely try to stay in that range. So far I’ve taken in 1179 calories today..guess I should find a decent snack before bed.

YOLO!

Jan

http://flavors.me/janorga

Leave a Reply

