Oktoberfeast!

I’m home alone for the weekend…well…my 21 year old college son is technically “home”…at work right now and probably headed out for some fun after work…so…I’m home alone for the weekend… (smile)

Oktoberfest was celebrated today in our Historic Germantown neighborhood: Nashville Oktoberfest, I didn’t attend but all of the media attention got me to thinking and remembering…

I spent a good deal of my childhood living in Germany; my father was a career Army man. I remember many a visit to German Oktoberfest activities. If you’re not familiar with the origins of Oktoberfest read about it here: 

Oktoberfest is an annual fall festival which takes place in Munich, Germany. It is associated with the consumption of large amounts of beer and traditional German foods, along with general merrymaking. With a few exceptions due to wars, Germans have celebrated Oktoberfest every year since 1810, although the early version of the event was dramatically different than the modern incarnation. Many communities with a large German population host their own versions of Oktoberfest every year, encouraging people to celebrate German heritage and join together in fellowship.  

quoted from wisegeek.com – What is Oktoberfest?

The actual German Oktoberfest ended on October 4th. We like a good party so have extended that calendar ourselves! Want more information on the history and culture? This website is great: World Languages & Cultures – German

My husband is not a fan of German food…so…since he’s out of town…I decided to treat myself! 

I found a great recipe on the Whole Foods website…here’s my creation…Oktoberfeast! 

I’m off to enjoy my Oktoberfeast with the first game of the NHL season Nashville Predators hockey!! Go Preds!! 

Now that’s what I call a good night “in”!! 

Gruss Gott! 

Jan Orga

You Only Live Once – Live with Passion! 

twitter: @spiritofyolo

Leave a Reply

